audio · video · WordPress Daily Post · Writing

Audio vs. Video vs. Obsolete Technology

Today’s Daily Post asks

What do you find more unbearable: watching a video of yourself, or listening to a recording of your voice? Why?

I’m gonna have to go with watching myself on video.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t like the sound of my voice when it’s recorded.  It tends to be tinny and nasally more often than not and any attempt to sing results in what sounds like a form of punishment.

But video is even worse, it combines all of my audio shortcomings with my decidedly un-telegenic self (which isn’t to say that I’m ugly; I just don’t translate well “onscreen”).  I have a crooked nose, thin lips, and am choppy  with my gestures and blocky in my comportment – that is, body language.

I would show you just how much worse my video aspect is than my audio avatar, but that would be difficult.  You see, the last example of myself speaking ‘on tape’ is literally on tape.  I took an Adult Methodology class this past January in which we were required to speak.  At the end of the class, our reward for braving public ridicule was an actual VHS cassette.

Who even owns a VCR any more?

2 thoughts on “Audio vs. Video vs. Obsolete Technology

  1. I relate to this. On the other hand, it is a good opportunity to learn about yourself. I spent some time recording myself speak, to try to teach myself to be a better speaker and the one thing it did do was show me where my shortcomings are and I had the chance to work on them.

    Like

  2. As per your question, who owns a VCR any more, I do have a vast collection and I’m sure I’m not the only! The downside is I no more have anything to play the VCRs on. The same for cassette tapes 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

